Spooky & Speculative October

Otherwise known as Janet’s top reading picks for Fall.

How Rory Thorne Destroyed the Multiverse

Black and neon Rory Thorne cover.

The Princess Bride meets Princess Leia in this space opera x fairy tale mashup? Yes, please.

Labyrinth Academy: Trials

Wrought iron school gate and red haired student.

If you’re a fan of Jennifer Estep’s Mythos Academy series, Darynda Jones’ Darklight, or Chloe Neil’s Devil’s Isle trilogy, this is your jam. Think magical academy, but with a deadly Minoan labyrinth as hazing.

House of Ash and Brimstone

Demon princess with a gun holding off frustrated body guard against graffiti and brick wall.

The publisher bills this as a breakout UF for fans of Ilona Andrews and Nalini Singh, and it is a Writers Guild of America nominee and RWA Golden Heart finalist. Waaay more importantly, it’s also one of my amazeballs CP’s debut, and I’m in love with both cranky, hot-mess Giselle and poor, frustrated soul-bound dragon Shade. I call dibs on Shade though.

Make Me No Grave

Female gunslinger against a fiery sunset.

Marshal Apostle Richardson faces off against bloodthirsty outlaws, flesh witches, ruthless vigilantes, and more in this gritty, magical re-imagining of the Old West. This Wild Western ticks all my boxes.

Ninth House

Serpent twining through book title.

I’m up for anything from fantasy author Leigh Bardugo (aka She Who Brought Us the Six of Crows duology, which is also on it’s way to becoming a Netflix series) but this sounds especially kickass– Ivy League secret societies but with dark magic and murder.

The Good Luck Girls

African American heroine in aviator jacket and survival gear against harsh landscape.

I’ve been waiting forever for this one–Westworld meets The Handmaid’s Tale, and I am here for it.

Hollow Kingdom

Raven and Bloodhound against a green cover.

This book has zombies and an apocalypse. But also a a trash-talking crow with a thing for Cheetos, who is trying his best, with the help of heckling wild animals, to find a cure for whatever is causing his human roommate to shamble and snack on the neighbors. It’s weird, an irreverent, and I love it.

Iron & Velvet

Gritty view of urban street.

This is a new, snarky addition to the UF world that a whole slew of people have insisted I read–one pitched it as Wynonna Earp but in London. Obviously, I immediately auto-purchased it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.